<body>

NOW AT
skezblog.blogspot.com

No one will ever read this. (I hope)

Google user tracking mode?

I'm usually on Google's side when it comes to privacy issues, but this is just a bit creepy...

Today I was trying to figure out why my Google Preview Firefox extension wasn't working (it only showed an image of google.com), so I went to the extensions website and right at the top of the page it explained the problem; Google is in user tracking mode. What does that mean? It basically means that Google is tracking which links you click, so for example if you searched for "some site", the first result might be "www.somesite.com", and normally the link to somesite.com is just "http://www.somesite.com", but when Google is in user tracking mode the link might be "http://www.google.com/url?
sa=U&start=1&q=http://www.somesite.com/&e=9800" (or something similar, that's what it was for me), and this means that Google knows which search results you click. On the Google Preview extension site they say that you can fix this by clearing your Google cookie, this worked for me, so if you have this issue then I suggest you clear out your cookies.

What are they doing? I'm sure there is a reasonable explination for this, but it'd be nice if they would tell us whats going on.
« Home | Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »
| Next »

» Post a Comment